Research Tool Bench

Trailer Hitch Class Weight Rating Comparator

Last updated 2026-08-22

Every hitch-class guide states a ceiling per class, as though every hitch built to that class reaches it: Class 3 up to some round number, Class 4 up to a bigger one. We fetched eleven specific, named hitch products across three brands' own current pages directly and checked what each one actually states for itself.

The class number doesn't reliably tell you which hitch is rated higher. CURT's own Class 3 hitch for the GMC Canyon / Chevrolet Colorado (SKU 13176) states 8,000 lb GTW — 2,000 lb more than two Class 4 hitches checked directly: Draw-Tite's own SKU 41534 (6,000 lb) and Reese's own SKU 44652 (6,000 lb, before weight distribution). A "Class 4" label from one brand can mean less towing capacity than a "Class 3" label from another.
The same brand's own "Class 3" label spans more than 2x within itself. CURT's own Class 3 hitches, all fetched directly from curtmfg.com, run from 3,500 lb (Volkswagen Tiguan, SKU 13133) to 8,000 lb (GMC Canyon/Chevrolet Colorado, SKU 13176) — a 4,500 lb gap for the identical class label on the identical 2" square receiver tube. CURT's own general class guide admits the reason in one sentence: "Trailer hitch weight ratings vary by part number. Capacity limited to lowest-rated towing component."
What you need to tow

One page that disagrees with itself about its own class

Draw-Tite's own SKU 41904 page (fetched directly, twice) carries two different class numbers for the same part: "Ultra Frame® Class 4 Trailer Hitch" in the product title, but "Class V: 2 in. Trailer Hitch" in its own breadcrumb navigation, and "Hitch Class: V" in its own specifications field. Its stated capacity (10,000 lb GTW / 1,000 lb TW) doesn't change either way — only the class label printed around it does.

Every stated capacity, unfiltered

This table doesn't depend on what you typed above — every figure this page cites, straight from each brand's own current page.

BrandModelClass (as stated)Their own GTWTheir own TWWith weight distribution
CURT SKU 13133 — Volkswagen Tiguan (2009-2017) Class 3 3,500 lb 350 lb Not stated on this page
CURT SKU 13234 — Ford Edge (2015-2024) Class 3 4,000 lb 600 lb Not stated on this page
CURT SKU 13176 — GMC Canyon / Chevrolet Colorado (2015-2022) Class 3 8,000 lb 800 lb Not stated on this page
CURT SKU 14029 — Cadillac / Chevrolet / GMC SUVs (1992-2000) Class 4 10,000 lb 1,000 lb 12,000 lb GTW / 1,200 lb TW
Draw-Tite SKU 75235 — Toyota RAV4 (2006-2018) Class III 4,500 lb 675 lb Not stated on this page
Draw-Tite SKU 41121 — Chevrolet/GMC G-series vans (1978-1996) Class III 5,000 lb 500 lb Not stated on this page
Draw-Tite SKU 41534 — Chevrolet Silverado / GMC Sierra 1500 (1999-2007) Class 4 6,000 lb 600 lb Not stated on this page
Draw-Tite SKU 41904 — Ford F-150/F-250/F-350 (1980-1997) Class 4 title / "V" in spec 10,000 lb 1,000 lb Not stated on this page
Reese 44785 — Toyota RAV4 Class III 4,500 lb 675 lb Not stated on this page
Reese 44650 — Jeep Grand Cherokee (2011-2022) Class 3 5,000 lb 500 lb Not stated on this page
Reese 44652 — Ford Econoline Class IV 6,000 lb 600 lb 10,000 lb GTW / 1,000 lb TW

What this does not do

Runs entirely in your browser. Nothing you type is sent anywhere. The recovery strap safety rating comparator found the same "named brands each state their own figure under the same label, with no shared standard behind it" shape in a different corner of vehicle recovery and towing gear, and the office chair weight capacity comparator found it again outside vehicles entirely — a size label that doesn't reliably tell you the number either.