Research Tool Bench

Recovery Strap Safety Rating Comparator

Last updated 2026-08-22

Every recovery strap or rope has a big number printed on its packaging. What that number actually promises — a load it can handle all day, or a load at which it will snap — is where named brands stop agreeing, and in one case, stop saying at all. We fetched eight products across four brands' own current pages directly and compared what each one actually states.

Two brands state both numbers. One states one number, unlabeled. One states no safety number at all. Rhino USA and GearAmerica each publish a working load limit (WLL) alongside a separate, larger minimum breaking strength — the load it's rated to handle safely, and the load at which it's expected to fail, stated as two different figures. Smittybilt's own pages state only a single number per strap, labelled just "rating," with no indication of which of those two concepts it means. Bubba Rope's own FAQ states outright: "There is no official working load limit on using Bubba Rope recovery ropes" — it publishes breaking strength only, and tells buyers to size a rope by multiplying the stuck vehicle's weight instead.
What you're recovering

Smittybilt's own pages: one number, no label

Checked directly on three separate product pages — the 2", 3", and 4" wide straps — and the wording never changes: "20,000lb rating," "30,000lb rating," "40,000lb rating." Not "working load limit." Not "breaking strength." Just "rating." Since we can't tell from Smittybilt's own page which of the other two brands' two very different numbers this is supposed to match, these three aren't included in the ranked comparison below — the same handling this site gave ABUS's unexplained lock ratings.

ModelWhat Smittybilt's own page states
2" x 20' Recovery Strap "20,000lb rating" — not specified as WLL or breaking strength
3" x 30' Recovery Strap "30,000lb rating" — not specified as WLL or breaking strength
4" x 20' Recovery Strap "40,000lb rating" — not specified as WLL or breaking strength

Bubba Rope's own FAQ: no working load limit, a multiplier instead

Bubba Rope's own FAQ page, fetched directly, states plainly there is no working load limit on its ropes, and instead recommends picking a rope whose breaking strength is "3 to 4 times" the stuck vehicle's weight (the FAQ itself says "3.5 or 4 times" in a different answer on the same page — a small inconsistency between Bubba Rope's own two answers, not resolved here into one number). Below, a rope only counts as a full "clears it" if its breaking strength is at least 4x your entered weight, the more conservative end of that range; if it only clears the 3x end, that's shown as a separate note rather than folded into a plain pass.

What this does not do

Runs entirely in your browser. Nothing you type is sent anywhere. The bike lock security rating comparator found the same "named brands each state their own figure, with no shared standard behind it" shape in a different market. The trailer hitch class weight rating comparator found the same shape one step earlier in the towing chain — the class label printed on the hitch itself, not just the strap connected to it. The rowing machine weight capacity comparator found the same "one brand states two different figures for the identical product" pattern on Concept2's own page. The drywall anchor weight rating comparator found the same "two numbers, one number, no number" split again — pull-out vs. shear instead of working load limit vs. breaking strength.